Posted by: martinkc | June 4, 2009

Shameless self-promotion by Kathleen Martin

Below you will find a link to the first review of my book, Hard and Unreal Advice: Mothers, Social Science, and the Victorian Poverty Experts.  It appears on the Reviews in History page of the website of the Institute of Historical Research, University of London, where I began the archival research for this book longer ago than I would care to say.  I don’t believe that the online publication knew that when my book was sent out for review, but apparently they  thought it was worth reviewing anyway.  To my amazement, the reviewer did understand what this deeply  unusual (not to say iconoclastic) book is about and liked it.  When I returned from my very long maternity leave to write my dissertation, the chair of the Graduate Program in Comparative History at Brandeis asked me in the most patronizing way imaginable whether I understood that the dissertation is required to be original.  I told him this: “Originality has never been a problem for me, at least not the lack of it.”  Fortunately this review does credit, rather than publish, originality.  

http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/paper/fevrev.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

